“Let no man pull you low enough to hate him”

Easily one of my favorite MLK Jr quotables (and he’s astoundingly quotable). And so hard to follow in a practical sense.

Hate–it’s a powerful tool. Motivator. Focusing agent. Sometimes to the point of obsession. Your task becomes like crystal, though often your insanity becomes like crystal also. What’s hard for me is the not hating people who deserve to be hated, who deserve  some well honed ire fired in their general direction.

I guess Martin’s trying to tell me (us) not to perpetuate it. I can dig that. And then I hear someone badmouthing muslims for something happening halfway around the world. And I hear that “Jesus trucks and Islam sucks.”  And then I hear a black woman on TV talking about how once upon a time she wouldn’t have had the right to vote, or live with the full rights of our citizenry, and how America has come so far–it’s 2010–so that we all have a say, and how glad she is that she was able to help vote down a Gay Marriage proposal thank the lord. With complete unironic abandon.

Are you kidding me? I’m thinking Jesus H. doesn’t “truck” nor does he think “Islam sucks.” And I also think that the Jesus I like to believe in would make sure that the “irony” of the situation come to full bear on those who deserve, nay need, to see its full existence.

And then I remember Dr. King’s little quotable–and I realize my dilemma. If you don’t sink to their level, they’ll never hear you tell them that it offends you when they spout their mono-syllabic-hate-mongering.

But if you do, then you have . . .

Leave a Reply

